NoBIAS’ research agenda addresses the whole AI-decision making pipeline with the overall goal of understanding the different sources of bias, detecting them as they manifest and mitigating their effects to the produced results for specific applications.

NoBIAS will deliver a cohort of 15 PhDs working on different aspects of the bias and AI topic:

  1. The social and technical networks of bias generation (hosted by GESIS, Germany) Description and application. Please contact: Katharina Kinder-Kurlanda (katharina.kinder-kurlanda@gesis.org)
  2. Discovering biased representations of people (hosted by KU Leuven, Belgium) Description and application. Please contact: Bettina Berendt (bettina.berendt@kuleuven.be)
  3. Discovering and quantifying bias (hosted by CERTH, Thessaloniki, Greece – Multimedia Knowledge and Social Media Analytics Lab, contact persons: Symeon Papadopoulos [papadop@iti.gr], Yiannis Kompatsiaris [ikom@iti.gr]). Description and application [Assigned]
  4. Causality analysis of data for domain-specific bias understanding (hosted by University of Pisa, Italy) Description and application. Please contact: Salvatore Ruggieri (salvatore.ruggieri@unipi.it)
  5. Documenting Bias in Data through ontologies (hosted by Leibniz University Hannover, Germany) Please contact: Maria-Esther Vidal (vidal@l3s.deDescription and application
  6. Data enrichment for mitigating bias. (hosted by Open University, United Kingdom) Please contact: Miriam Fernandez (miriam.fernandez@open.ac.ukDescription and application
  7. Bias mitigation in classification methods (hosted by CERTH, Thessaloniki, Greece – Multimedia Knowledge and Social Media Analytics Lab, contact persons: Symeon Papadopoulos [papadop@iti.gr], Yiannis Kompatsiaris [ikom@iti.gr]) Description and application [Assigned]
  8. Bias mitigation in ranking methods (hosted by GESIS, Germany) Contact persons: Fariba Karimi [fariba.karimi@gesis.org] and Claudia Wagner [claudia.wagner@gesis.org]. Link to the announcement. [Assigned]
  9. Legal issues of mitigating bias at a national and EU level (hosted by Leibniz University Hannover, Germany) Contact person: Christian Heinze Description and application
  10. Explaining prediction models by argumentation (hosted by University of Southampton, United Kingdom, contact persons Steffen Staab [S.R.Staab@soton.ac.uk], Thanassis Tiropanis [t.tiropanis@southampton.ac.uk]). Link to the announcement.
  11. Explaining white-model predictions (hosted by SCHUFA, Germany) Description and application. Contact persons: Klaus Broelemann[Klaus.Broelemann@schufa.de] and Silvia Mieth [jobs@schufa.de]
  12. Collective elicitation of bias coming from inaccessible algorithms (hosted by University of Southampton, United Kingdom, contact persons Steffen Staab [S.R.Staab@soton.ac.uk], Thanassis Tiropanis [t.tiropanis@southampton.ac.uk]). Link to the announceme
  13. Declarative explanation of black-box decisions (hosted by University of Pisa, Italy) Description and application. Please contact: Salvatore Ruggieri (salvatore.ruggieri@unipi.it)
  14. Combining a technical, legal, and ethical assessment of the rights to information and explanation (hosted by University of Southampton, United Kingdom) (s.stalla-bourdillon@soton.ac.ukLink to the announcement.
  15. Time-dependent monitoring and mitigation for bias (hosted by Leibniz University Hannover, Germany) Contact person: Eirini Ntoutsi Description and application